noun - North American republic containing 50 states - 48 conterminous states in North America plus Alaska in northwest North America and the Hawaiian Islands in the Pacific Ocean; achieved independence in 1776
noun - the army of the United States of America; the agency that organizes and trains soldiers for land warfare